Reading Response #2

I found the article on Booktalking to be fairly useful. I loathe speaking in public, so tips on how to handle doing booktalks are welcome, even though I inevitably end up speaking too fast, stammering, never look up from reading my prepared speech, and ruining the punchline for any jokes- you know, all of the things that you aren’t supposed to do. The upcoming booktalk assignment probably isn’t going to be much fun, especially since we have to film it and that combines my lack of public speaking skills with my technological incompetance. The last time I had to create a video for class, my actors just about walked off the set, and they were Barbie dolls.

That said, the article makes some good points about how useful booktalks can be for connecting teenagers with the library. For one thing, teenagers have to attend any booktalks held during class- even if afterwards they do not choose to use the library, at least they know some of the materials and services that a library can offer. Wa-aa-ay back in the day, when I was a teenager and Neanderthals roamed the Earth (dinosaurs roamed when my parents were young), I made weekly trips to the public library for more reading material. However, it never really occured to me to ask the librarians for help in finding something new to read, and I don’t recall anyone ever offering. I went from the children’s section to the adult science fiction and fantasy department, and never really left. I might have enjoyed other genres, but the general fiction section is so large it can be hard to find the right thing to read without spending an hour or more just looking at titles. Booktalks can be useful to introduce people not only to specific titles, but also to the variety of materials that the library has to offer.

All in all, the article is very clearly and logically written, essentially a set of step-by-step instructions on how to do an effective booktalk. One thing I would like to know is what ‘LST’ stands for, but I assume that is mentioned in a previous chapter of the book that was not assigned.

Leave a Reply

