Today I Read…Sailor Moon 7

Today I read Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon 7 by Naoko Takeuchi.

In this volume, the Sailor Guardians finally meet Sailor Uranus, Sailor Neptune and Sailor Pluto. Sailor Moon uses the power of the Holy Grail to combine the hearts of all of the Sailor Guardians and Tuxedo Mask and uses that power to become Super Sailor Moon. The Sailor Guardians find out that Chibi-Usa’s friend Hotaru has been taken over by evil to become Mistress 9, and that she is the legendary Sailor Saturn, who must never be awakened lest she herald the end of the world.

I’m really enjoying the reissue of the Sailor Moon manga. I watched the English cartoon in the 90s, but I never read the original manga until now. Since I don’t read much manga, I appreciate the translation notes that they put in the back of the book, although I wish there were a few more of them. The manga is pretty different that the English version of the cartoon. Then again, I have a couple of DVDs of Sailor Moon S and it’s pretty funny if you put on the English voices with the English subtitles–they used different translations, so you end up watching two different stories at once with the same art.

Sometimes it’s just really nice to know that no matter how bad the evil gets, and no matter how scared you get, love and friendship will always triumph. (Even though the feminist comic fan in me wonders how the hell they would actually fight in those outfits in Real Life.)

Leave a Reply

