50 More Books Pledged

Last year I participated in HarperCollins’ 50 Book Pledge. I managed to get up to 148 (yes I’m counting graphic novels and kids’ books, they’re books, they count. Be glad I’m not including fanfic.) I found it useful, not just for the count of how many but for the visual representation to remind me what I’ve read, since the covers are posted on the shelves. Plus, it’s kind of fun, especially when people say “Nobody reads anymore” and I can see thousands of people participating in just this one reading program.

One thing that I’m happy about is that they’ve vastly revamped the website for this year’s pledge. I can look at the books I read last year as well as this year’s Read and To Read shelves, so it’s a good way to keep track of my history. Any books on my 2013 To Read shelves were automatically transferred to my 2014 To Read shelves, so I can still remember what’s on my list.

They’ve also fixed a few criticisms that I had last year. Now you can search for people’s shelves, and you can register via email as well as Twitter and Facebook. There are shelves for Featured Reads from HarperCollins and Top Reads among the community, as well as a page for the contests they run. The home page also provides icons for any Facebook friends who are participating in the challenge or who have in the past, as well as showing how many people are participating and how many books they have pledged to read. You can include a short profile of yourself, which includes how many years you have been participating in the 50 Book Pledge, your favourite author and your favourite book that you read last year, and a short About Me section. The new site is much less basic, is user friendly, and a little more attractive than last year’s. You can find my new pledge here, and I hope more people join me. If you’re participating, why don’t you leave your pledge link in the comments- like any true bibliophile, I love browsing through other people’s bookshelves. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some reading to do…

One thought on “50 More Books Pledged

  1. Pingback: Another 50 Books Pledged | wadingthroughbooks

Leave a Reply

